Facebook and your lack of privacy

I've just attempted to delete my Facebook account, only to find this on the 'deactivate' page:

Opt out of receiving emails from Facebook. Note: Even after you deactivate, your friends can still invite you to events, tag you in photos, or ask you to join groups. If you opt out, you will NOT receive these email invitations and notifications from your friends.

You can reactivate your account at any time by logging in with your email and password.

So quite clearly they DON'T actually delete your data, and I have been unable to find an option on the website to do this. I've emailed their privacy department, it will be interesting to see what response I get...

Tags :